By default, in free Independent Projects and Team Projects, everyone has access to the Members feature. However, in Premium Projects, Admin(s) can change permission levels.
If the members feature is locked, it is because the admin has changed permissions.
A locked Members feature is shown below:
Note: Admin permissions settings are only available in premium Independent Projects and premium Team Projects. To see all of the benefits of upgrading your Independent Project or Team, click here.